Michigan marijuana laws can be difficult to understand and if you are facing charges related to a drug crime it is vital to have an experienced drug defense lawyer. The legal team at Grewal Law PLLC is ready to defend you against any marijuana drug charges. From the possession of the drug to improper transport of medical marijuana, we can protect you from facing life-altering punishment if convicted.
If you’ve been arrested, contact Grewal Law PLLC for a free, no-obligation consultation. Call (888) 211-5798 today.
Marijuana Possession Charges
Despite the fact marijuana is legal for medicinal purposes through the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act (MMMA), it is still a crime to possess the drug for any other purposes. If you are not a registered patient through the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program (MMMP) you are not allowed to possess any amount of marijuana.
You need drug crime attorneys to help protect your rights and to aggressively defend if you are facing marijuana possession charges. We are knowledgeable in Michigan marijuana laws and know factors that may impact your case.
Even though many people smoke marijuana also known as weed or pot, you could face jail time and fines for its possession. Charges start at the misdemeanor level for being caught smoking marijuana. Penalties include up to 90 days in jail and a $100 fine.
These penalties increase if you are charged with possession of marijuana including having to serve one year in jail and paying up to $2,000 in fines. If you are suspected of cultivating the plant for distribution you will be charged with a felony that includes at least 4 years in jail and fines of up to $20,000.
Possession with Intent to Sell or Deliver Marijuana
Marijuana possession charges already come with serious penalties, however if you are charged with the intent to sell or deliver the drug you could face even harsher punishment. The penalties vary depending on the amount of marijuana in your possession and the crime is charged as a felony.
If you are found possessing the drug in certain locations such as near a church or a school, you could also face additional penalties besides those outlined below:
- The sale of less than 5 kilograms or less than 20 plants includes a maximum prison sentence of 4 years and fines of up to $20,000.
- The sale of 5 kilograms and less than 45 kilograms or 20 to 200 marijuana plants includes a maximum prison sentence of 7 years and fines of up to $500,000.
- The sale of more than 45 kilograms or 200 marijuana plants includes a maximum prison sentence of 15 years and fines of up to $10,000,000.
Our Michigan attorneys for drug defense will help you understand the charges you are facing related to possession of marijuana and will work to build the best defense for your case.
Distribution of Medical Marijuana
Anyone charged with distributing medical marijuana will face different penalties depending on the circumstances of his or her case. A registered MMMA patient who simply distributes medical marijuana to another person can be charged with a felony. If convicted, the penalties a patient could face include up to 2 years in prison and fines of up to $2,000. The person’s registry identification card will also be revoked.
Once money exchanges hands for the distribution of marijuana, the charges brought against a patient are more severe and could include some of the other drug charges outlined here. If you a medical marijuana user who is facing distribution charges call our team at Grewal Law PLLC today to handle your case’s defense.
Improper Transportation of Medical Marijuana
As a registered MMMA patient you could face criminal charges if you do not properly transport your medical marijuana. If you are pulled over by the police, the officer can charge you with the Improper Transport of Marijuana if it is not secured.
The misdemeanor charge comes with the following penalties if you are convicted:
- Imprisonment of up to 93 days in jail
- Fine of up to $500.00
- Combination of both jail time and a fine
Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana
Michigan laws on marijuana allow individuals to face an Impaired Driving charge for driving under the influence of marijuana. The drug is considered a Schedule 1 controlled substances and is only legal for use through the MMMA. To be charged with traditional drunk driving, a person over the age of 21 must have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of over .08 or greater.
However, any trace of marijuana in a driver’s system can prompt an Impaired Driving charge. The only time the zero tolerance policy does not apply is for medical marijuana patients.
Immediately contact a marijuana defense lawyer to handle your case if you have been charged with impaired driving. Our attorneys at Grewal Law PLLC understand Michigan drug laws and Michigan marijuana DUI laws. We are ready to build your defense today.
Fight Marijuana Drug Charges in Lansing
Contact Grewal Law PLLC right away if you are under investigation for any marijuana drug crime. We will provide you with a no obligation quote at (888) 211-5798. Our team will conduct a thorough investigation to build the most effective defense in your case.
The faster you contact our team, the sooner we will be able to protect you against your marijuana drug charges.