If you are facing assault and battery charges in Michigan, then you need the assistance of our experienced Michigan assault and battery attorneys. Our team at Grewal Law PLLC will help build a strong defense for your case.
Assault and battery charges are brought against someone when he or she has attempted to cause physical injury (assault) resulting in actual contact such as hitting someone (battery). These charges are typically categorized as a misdemeanor except in certain circumstances where the accused could be charged with a felony.
In addition, you may face aggravated assault in Michigan charges if serious injury is inflicted as a result of the contact. If the person must seek medical treatment, has impaired health or is disfigured afterward, aggravated assault felony or misdemeanor charges will be filed.
Call our legal team at Grewal Law PLLC today for your free consultation related to assault and battery charges at (888) 211-5798.
Felony vs Misdemeanor Charges
A typical assault and battery charge will result in a misdemeanor charge. In most cases, you will be charged with a misdemeanor if you were unsuccessful in harming the person or if you only intended to cause fear in the person versus real physical harm.
However, under certain circumstances felony charges will be filed instead of a misdemeanor. While all charges are life-changing, if convicted of a felony you lose the right to work in your chosen profession, the ability to own firearms and the right to vote. Call an experienced Michigan criminal defense attorney today to help you in your assault and battery case.
Felony charges may be brought if the person being attacked is a law enforcement official, medical personnel, public employee, or someone who you were involved with through a dating relationship. Felony charges in dating relationships are typically brought as the result of a second offense.
The law defines dating relationship as the following connections:
- Spouse or former spouse
- Individual with whom you have or had a dating relationship within life
- A person with whom you share a common child
- Someone who lived or currently lives in your home
- An individual who you know is pregnant
In addition, felony charges will be filed if the attack was instigated with the intent to murder or as the result of a kidnapping, robbery or other more serious crimes. Learn more about the charges you are facing by contacted our experience criminal defense team.
Punishment for Assault & Battery Charges
If you are facing a misdemeanor assault and battery charge you could face the following penalties:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- A fine of up to $500.00 or both.
Anyone convicted of a second offense directed towards someone who he or she is in a dating relationship with could face up to 1 year in jail along with a fine of up to $1,000. Besides these tougher penalties, felony charges could be filed against you for subsequent case. If you have two or more prior convictions connected to someone you are in a dating relationship with then the felony charges can be filed.
The punishment may include:
- Imprisonment for up to 5 years
- Fines of up to $5,000.00
- Combination of imprisonment and fines up to the levels outlined above
The felony charges related to injuring a police officer, public utility employee, emergency personnel or other government officials vary. The charges may include fines starting at $1,000 up to $20,000 depending on the severity of the crime. In addition, jail time varies from five years up to 20 years of jail time.
As your assault attorneys in Lansing, we will work to build the best defense in your case. Our team will strive to find the most optimum result for you. From proving your innocence to working towards probation versus jail time, our team of criminal defense attorneys in Michigan are ready to help you today.
Hire Experienced Assault & Battery Attorneys in Michigan
When facing assault and battery or aggravated assault Michigan charges, you need an aggressive legal team to help you fight the prosecution’s case. Our team at Grewal Law PLLC will help you throughout your entire case.
Do not face assault and battery charges in Michigan alone, get the help of our assault & battery lawyers.
Call today for your no obligation quote at (888) 211-5798.