Michigan DUI Attorneys
Understanding Michigan DUI Laws
State law prohibits anyone in Michigan from operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above. Additionally, the state’s “zero-tolerance” policy forbids anyone under the age of 21 from operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% and above. Though generally categorized under the umbrella term “DUI,” driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Michigan typically falls under one of two categories: operating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OWI) and operating while visibly impaired (OWVI).
Important Facts About DUI Charges in Michigan
Once you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is essential that you get a clear picture of what to expect and understand all the facts related to your case. In most cases, a higher blood alcohol concentration will result in a more severe punishment – but it can also vary depending on the circumstances of your case, as police may issue a severe OWVI charge simply by noticing your behavior and assuming that you must be drunk.
Your penalties for any DUI charges may include hundreds of dollars in fines, license revocation, and up to 1 year in jail. Additionanlly, prosecutors do not even need to take your BAC in order to charge you with OWVI. These charges are extremely serious and can threaten your rights and liberties, which is why it’s crucial that you contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible who can work to protect your best interests.
Call Grewal Law PLLC at (888) 211-5798 for a free consultation with one of our DUI lawyers in Michigan. We assist clients facing serious charges throughout the state.
How We Can Help
Being arrested for DUI is often a very overwhelming experience. Many people do not fully understand their rights, and more still do not realize they may have several legal options to fight the charges.
Our attorneys can assist clients with all aspects of DUI law, including but not limited to:
- Commercial license DUI
- DUI penalties
- Felony DUI
- Implied consent law
- Underage DUI
- Driver’s license restoration
Depending on the specific circumstances involved in your situation, our firm can use several strategies to dispute the validity of your charges.
Often, our Michigan DUI attorneys will look at the following factors when investigating your case:
- Did the police officer have reason to stop you?
- Did the arresting officer make any false or misleading statements?
- Was the breathalyzer or other test administered correctly?
- Were the results of your test handled correctly?
- Was the breathalyzer properly calibrated before the test was administered?
- Were proper police procedures followed during the time of arrest?
- Were there any problems related to police jurisdiction?
We conduct thorough investigations and pursue every available avenue to ensure that your rights were not violated. We can also help you work to have your driver’s license reinstated if it was revoked as a result of your refusal to take a breathalyzer test.
Contact Grewal Law PLLC Right Away!
The sooner you reach out to our legal team following your DUI arrest, the better. If you were not aware of Michigan’s implied consent laws and refused a breathalyzer test after being pulled over, you only have 14 days to request a hearing for driver’s license reinstatement. It is crucial that you contact our Michigan criminal defense lawyers as soon as possible so that we can begin building a defense on your behalf. Combining over 100 years of legal experience, our attorneys are prepared to fight for you.
Request a free, confidential case evaluation by calling (888) 211-5798 or by submitting a contact form.