Underage DUI Attorneys in Michigan
Understanding Michigan’s Zero Tolerance Policies
Anyone facing a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge can be feel lost and overwhelmed. For young people who are under the age of 21 it can be even more difficult dealing with the zero tolerance laws in Michigan. As a parent or as the person who has been charged with a DUI for underage drinking, you may not know where to turn next. A DUI under 21 lawyer from Grewal Law PLLC is ready to be your guide throughout the proceedings.
While representing your case, our team will examine all the circumstances surrounding your incident in order build the best defense for you. From a license suspension to community services and fines, the penalties imposed for underage DUI convictions are vast. The DUI attorneys at our firm give every case personal attention and are here for you.
Even though individuals over the age of 21 can have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) up to .08 before facing a DUI charge, the level is much lower for anyone who is underage. The BAC level drops to .02 or greater for anyone who is under the age of 21 under Michigan’s Impaired Driving Law.
Contact the experienced Michigan underage DUI lawyers at Grewal Law PLLC today to assist you in your underage drinking case at (888) 211-5798.
Consequences for a DUI Under 21 Conviction
Michigan’s Zero Tolerance standards are tough for individuals who are convicted for a DUI while under the age of 21. The penalties vary depending on whether or not the person, ranging from the age 16 to 20, is facing his or her first or second offense.
The punishments imposed for a conviction are as follows and vary depending on if the case is your first or second offense:
- Fines ranging from $250 (first offense) to $500 (second offense)
- For second offense individuals, can face up to 93 days in jail
- Community service ranging from 45 days (first offense) to 60 days (second offense)
- 4 points on your driver’s license
- 30-day license restriction (first offense) up to 90-day suspension (second offense)
Building Your Defense
While working on your case we will help you understand the step-by-step process of your DUI case and will help you beat a DUI charge in Michigan. In addition, we will go over with you everything regarding the state’s zero tolerance standards.
We will also help you understand state laws such as Michigan’s Implied Consent Law which requires all drivers to submit to a BAC test if pulled over. While serving as your defense, we will look for any issues related to your test. We will examine how the test was given to ensure law enforcement followed proper procedures during its administration. Anything we find can be used for your defense when going to court.
Defending Your Underage Drinking Case Today
Do not let an underage drinking conviction end up on you or your child’s record for drinking before the legal age, hire our experienced attorneys for your defense today. Call Grewal Law PLLC to help in your drunk driving case in Lansing, East Lansing, Grand Rapids, Okemos, and throughout the state right away.
Our DUI attorneys can build the best defense possible to help you avoid a conviction. Call us for a free quote at (888) 211-5798.