Open Accessibility Menu
  • The Best Lawyers In America
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 100
  • Avvo Clients Choice Family
  • Avvo 10.0 Superb Criminal Defense and Divorce
  • Leading Lawyers
  • Martindale Hubbell Distinguished Peer Rated for High Professional Achievement 2018
  • Super Lawyers

Michigan DUI Penalties

Contact Our DUI Lawyers in Michigan for a Free Consultation

The penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI), operating while intoxicated (OWI), and similar charges in Michigan are very serious. If you are convicted, the exact penalties you will face will depend on the circumstances involved but could range from steep fines to lengthy jail sentences to driver’s license revocation, community service, and more. In most cases, the state will seek the maximum possible penalties.

If you have been arrested for or charged with DUI in Michigan, it is critical that you contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. At Grewal Law PLLC, we work with individuals throughout the state who are facing harsh penalties. Our Michigan DUI attorneys can help you understand your legal options and fight to protect your rights.

Call us at (888) 211-5798 to schedule a free, confidential case evaluation today.

Penalties for a First DUI Offense

If you are convicted of a first-offense drunk driving charge, and your BAC was below 0.17%, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension of up to 180 days
  • 6 traffic points on your driver’s license
  • Up to 360 hours of mandatory community service

If you are arrested for driving drunk and your BAC was above 0.17%, you will face operating while intoxicated (OWI) charges. The penalties for a first-offense OWI include:

  • Up to $700 in fines
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension of up to 1 year
  • 6 points on your driver’s license
  • Up to 360 hours of mandatory community service
  • Required completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Mandatory ignition interlock installation on your vehicle

As you can see, the penalties for even a first-time offense are very serious. If you are convicted of a second- or third-time DUI offense, you will face even harsher penalties. The same is true if you are arrested for DUI and there is a minor in your vehicle at the time of the arrest or if you are also convicted of causing an accident that results in injury or death while driving drunk.

Penalties for Underage Drunk Driving & Commercial Drivers

Michigan has what is known as a “zero tolerance” policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Anyone under the age of 21 who is found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher will be charged with DUI and may face serious penalties.

The penalties for underage DUI or OWI in Michigan include:

  • Up to $250 in fines for a first offense or up to $500 in fines for a second offense
  • Up to 93 days in jail for a second offense
  • 30-day (first offense) or 90-day (second offense) license restriction
  • 45 days of mandatory community service for a first offense or 60 days for a second offense
  • 4 points on your driver’s license

For those holding a commercial driver’s license (CDL), a drunk driving conviction not only threatens your freedom, but it also threatens your livelihood. CDL holders convicted of a first-time DUI or OWI face a one-year suspension of their CDL. This increases to three years if you are transporting hazardous materials. If you are convicted of a second or third offense, your CDL will be revoked for at least 10 years.

Michigan Sobriety Courts

One of the consequences of a DUI conviction is the revocation or restriction of your driver’s license. However, certain individuals (typically repeat offenders) may be able to enter the Sobriety Court program, which allows you to retain a restricted license as long as you participate in treatment programs. Members of the program are required to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle. They must also remain in the program for two years, attend Alcoholic Anonymous (AA) or Narcotics Anonymous (NA), submit to drug and alcohol testing, and carry out community service.

If you are interested in learning more about the Sobriety Court program or you need assistance with DUI defense, contact our DUI lawyers in Grand Rapids. With three office locations, Grewal Law PLLC proudly serves clients throughout the state of Michigan.

Contact us online or by phone at (888) 211-5798 today.

DUI Penalties

Reputation You Can Count On

  • I would take any future legal issues to them without hesitation.

    - RF

  • The team he works with at Grewal are also people of integrity, with a diverse array of special qualifications for really any legal need.

    - Former Client

  • The service from this company is fantastic. It is a team that will represent you well.

    - MLO

  • Superbly organized and always cordial, the assistants at the firm made the process go as smoothly as one could possibly expect.

    - Rima

  • It was reassuring to know that the firm took my family’s predicament seriously and made every effort to resolve what could have been a long ordeal.

    - Aaron & Virgie M.

  • We always felt everything we shared was taken seriously and that what we had to say was of utmost importance.

    - Michael & Jessica

Hundreds of Millions Recovered

On Behalf Of Our Clients
View Our Results

We Are Committed to Fighting For Your Best Future

  • Over 100 years of combined legal experience
  • Serving the Mid Michigan area for decades
  • Our team is accessible 24/7
  • Client focused approach
  • Proven track record of success

Proven Track Record As
One Of Michigan's Best Law Firms

Call (888) 211-5798 to learn more how we can help you and your family.
Schedule Your Free Consultation