Over 100 Years of Collective Experience On Your Side.
You must meet the following requirements before submitting your application for expungement:
- You must wait for 5 years after your conviction, discharge from parole or probation, or the completion of your jail sentence before you can be considered.
- You may have the waiting period waived only if you were convicted of a prostitution offense as the victim of human trafficking.
- You must not have more than 1 felony and not more than 2 misdemeanor convictions on your record before petitioning the court.
- You must have no other adult convictions have been set aside from your record.
In Michigan, you are only allowed to have one adult conviction expunged from your record. The law changed in 2015, so if you have a conviction prior to this date then the guidelines are slightly different. If you have an older conviction on your record, our Michigan expungement lawyers at Grewal Law PLLC can answer your questions regarding a felony expungement, including how to get a felony charge expunged.
Can You Get a Felony Removed From Your Record?
Under Michigan law, you may be eligible to have one felony charge set aside or expunged from your record. There are some guidelines which must be met in order for the conviction to be considered for an expungement. For misdemeanors and minor crimes, it may be possible to remove more than one, but you will need to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney first to review your options.
Under state law most felonies can be expunged as long as they are not convictions related to the following offenses:
- Offense punishable by life in prison
- Criminal sexual conduct, with some exceptions for criminal sexual conduct of the 4th Degree convictions prior to January 12, 2015
- Traffic offenses such as drinking and driving
- Child abuse in the second degree
- Child Abuse in the Presence of Another Child
- Domestic violence conviction, if the person has a previous misdemeanor conviction for domestic violence
- Human trafficking violations
How to Request Expungement
In the state of Michigan, to request expungement you must fill out an application and obtain a certified order of conviction from the court where you were convicted. You will also need to get fingerprinted and purchase a money order from the Michigan State Police for $50.
It is important to note that the application and conviction orders need to be filed with the court where you were convicted in, sent to the Michigan Attorney General's Office, and also to the office of the prosecutor where you were convicted.
If you are considering an application to have a felony conviction set aside from your record contact our experienced legal team today. Our Michigan attorneys are ready to help you get your life back by having a charge expunged from your record. Call (888) 211-5798 today.
We represented 111 of the 333 survivors in the lawsuits against Michigan State University for sexual abuse involving the former MSU doctor, Larry Nassar.Read More
Grewal Law has been amazingly empathetic and forward-thinking through this very emotional and trying time.- Anonymous
Manvir (Mick) Grewal Sr. Founder and Managing Partner
Scott Weidenfeller Attorney; Medical Malpractice & Personal Injury Team Leader
Ayanna Neal Attorney; Sexual Assault, Civil Rights, & Criminal Team Leader
Nolan Erickson Attorney; New Client Intake Coordinator & Mass Torts Projects
David Mittleman Litigating Attorney
Gurrajan Gill Attorney
Tim Seeger Attorney
Chelsea Lenard Attorney
Rico Neal Attorney
Carlye Reynolds Gasior Attorney
Michael Szparaga Attorney