In Michigan, larceny is any type of theft crime that involves taking property, objects, money, or any other items from another person or entity without permission. When theft involves the threat of force or actual violence, it is considered robbery. This is a serious charge and carries serious implications.
If you have been charged with armed or unarmed robbery, it is crucial that you speak to an experienced attorney about your legal options. The sooner you reach out to a lawyer, the better, as speaking with law enforcement may result in self-incrimination. At Grewal Law PLLC, we have more than a century of combined experience. Our skilled robbery lawyers can help you defend your rights.
Call (888) 211-5798 or fill out and submit an online contact form to request a free consultation.
Penalties for Robbery in Michigan
The penalties for armed and unarmed robbery in Michigan are complex and can vary quite dramatically depending on the various factors involved in the alleged offense. Typically, the penalties you may be facing will range depending on the monetary value of the items allegedly taken, the extent of force alleged applied, and your own criminal history (if one exists).
In regards to the value of stolen property, Michigan theft crime penalties are as follows:
- If stolen property is worth less than $200, the offender can be found guilty of a misdemeanor and receive up to 93 days in prison and a fine of $500 or a fine in the amount of 3 times the value of stolen goods, whichever is greater
- If stolen property is worth $200-$1,000, the offender may be convicted of a misdemeanor and punished with up to 1 year in prison and a fine up to $2,000 or 3 times the value of stolen property, whichever is greater
- If stolen property is worth $20,000 or more, the offender can be found guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to a maximum of 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000 or 3 times the value of stolen property, whichever is greater
Penalties may be more severe if you are found guilty of armed robbery, even including life imprisonment. If someone is injured as a result of the alleged robbery, you will be facing a minimum of two years’ imprisonment if convicted.
It is important to note that a person can be charged with armed robbery even if they do not use force. Merely positing that a harmless concealed item is a weapon in order to intimidate or cause fear during an act of theft could result in armed robbery charges.
Turn to Our Trusted Legal Team
Robbery charges are very serious and, as such, you need a serious legal team on your side. At Grewal Law PLLC, we work tirelessly to thoroughly examine the various aspects of your situation and build a strong defense on your behalf. We understand just how much is at stake, which is why our Michigan robbery attorneys are prepared to serve as your aggressive advocate throughout each stage of the legal process.
Contact us as soon as possible to discuss your case; call (888) 211-5798 or submit an online form today.