Michigan Car Accident Lawyer
Dedicated Advocacy For Victims Of Car Crashes - Call (888) 211-5798!
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), most traffic accidents occur within 15 miles of a driver’s home. Often, these accidents happen because another person was driving carelessly, recklessly, or negligently. When this is the case, and you are injured as a result of the accident, you may be entitled to financial compensation for your injuries and other losses.
At Grewal Law PLLC, our auto accident lawyers represent clients throughout Michigan who have been injured in car accidents. We understand the extensive suffering you are going through and are here to fight for the maximum compensation you are owed. It is important that you reach out to a Michigan car accident lawyer from our firm as soon as possible, as evidence can become lost over time and you legally only have three years from the date of injury to bring an accident claim.
Keep reading to learn more about:
Discuss your car accident case with Grewal Law PLLC by calling (888) 211-5798 to request a free consultation.
Our Michigan Car Accident Lawyer Is Dedicated To Your Cause
Our first priority at Grewal Law is to help auto accident victims receive the medical care they need.
Regardless of the circumstances of your car accident, our firm is here to fight for you. We believe that negligent parties should be held accountable for the harm they cause and that innocent victims deserve to have their story told.
Some of our case results include:
- $750,000 for a young woman who suffered brain damage because of a defective roadway design.
- $687,000 for a 46-year-old-man who needed spine surgery.
- $625,000 for a 30-year-old woman who suffered two fractures in her pelvis.
If you were injured or your loved one was killed in a car wreck, our team of auto accident lawyers is standing by to help you.
Uncovering the Cause of Your Car Accident
The first step to pursuing compensation with a car accident claim is identifying the negligent party. With millions of car accidents occurring on the road every year, it is no surprise that majority of these auto accidents are caused by driver negligence.
Our team of experience Michigan car accident lawyers can help determine if the other driver committed any of the following negligent behaviors:
- Distracted driving, including cellphone use
- Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol (DUI/OWI)
- Rideshare accidents with Uber / Lyft drivers
- Speeding or reckless driving
- Fatigued driving
- Following too closely (“tailgating”)
- Failure to yield
- Running stop signs/red lights
- Illegal lane changes, turns, etc.
This list is by no means exhaustive; there are many ways in which negligence can lead to car accidents, including defective auto parts or dangerous vehicle designs.
The legal team at Grewal Law PLLC utilizes all possible resources to uncover the party responsible for your injuries and hold them accountable, including police reports, witness testimony, medical experts, and accident reconstructionists.
Securing the legal Compensation You Deserve
Michigan is a no-fault state for car accidents, meaning that regardless of who caused the car accident, you can have your medical bills and certain other expenses covered by your own PIP insurance policy. All Michigan drivers are required to purchase no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
However, even minor car accident injuries can result in heavy costs. The pain of your injury may prevent you from being able to work, not to mention the medical bills that can quickly pile up.
By securing a favorable settlement with the insurance company, you can be compensated the losses you have sustained, including:
- Medical bills
- Loss of income
- Permanent disability
- Loss of earning potential
- Loss of quality of life
- Funeral and burial expenses, in fatal accidents
What if PIP Coverage Isn't Enough?
In the past, the state-mandated the amount of PIP insurance coverage that drivers could purchase. However, with the passing of Senate Bill 1 in June 2019, drivers now have the choice to enroll at different levels of PIP insurance, with the lowest set at $50,000. That is rarely enough to account for the most catastrophic injuries, and may not even be enough to get treatment for minor car accident injuries.
When an accident injury causes serious impairment to your life, you may be eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent party for additional legal compensation. Michigan's no-fault insurance laws greatly limit who can file a personal injury lawsuit, so it's best to review your case with an experienced car accident attorney to understand all your options.
Get in touch with our office in Michigan today by calling (888) 211-5798.
Q:What happens if the other driver does not have insurance?
A:If the other driver does not have insurance, you are still entitled to receive compensation for an at-fault accident, especially when that accident results in catastrophic injuries. In the state of Michigan, drivers without insurance may be required to pay significant fines and fees on top of paying for your crash expenses. However, getting fair compensation from a driver without insurance often requires filing a personal injury lawsuit, so it’s important to speak with a qualified attorney if this is the case.
Q:What steps should I take after a car accident?
A:First and foremost, you should seek medical attention for your injuries as soon as possible after your accident, even if you feel fine at first: This creates a verifiable record of your injuries in the event that you seek legal action. Because adrenaline tends to run high in the aftermath of a car crash, you may not be able to tell when your injuries are serious, but require additional care later on. Many significant car accident injuries can also take days to manifest. Make sure to report any and all symptoms to ER or urgent care staff, including: Dizziness and vertigo, loss of consciousness, blurred vision, headaches, lightheadedness, loss of memory or confusion.
Q:How long do I have to file a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident?
A:If you've been injured in a car crash in Michigan, it's important to note that you only have a certain amount of time during which to file a lawsuit for more damages, call the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations in Michigan for claims related to physical injury and wrongful death is three years. While three years may seem like a long time, it's still important to speak to a car accident lawyer as soon as possible so that they can begin collecting evidence to support your claim.