Prescription Drug Crime Lawyers
Serving Clients Throughout Michigan
Under Michigan law it is illegal to possess, distribute or use a controlled substance without a valid prescription from a physician. All controlled substances are highly regulated restricting its use. These substances are divided by different schedules according to the public health code. You can be charged with a crime for the illegal use of these drugs.
Abuse of prescription drugs has increased across the state, so law enforcement officials are cracking down on crimes associated with their use. Often individuals seek out multiple physicians to obtain more of a substance than what is legally allowed. In addition, sometimes individuals lie about ailments in an attempt to get a prescription. The most commonly abused medications are Oxycodone and Vicodin which are extremely dangerous when high dosages are consumed.
Grewal Law PLLC’s team is ready to defend you against prescription drug charges. Do not wait to start crafting your defense. Call our drug crime lawyers for your no obligation quote at (888) 211-5798 today.
Punishment for Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 Substances
If a person is found to have used a controlled substance without a prescription, he or she will face a misdemeanor. The penalties vary depending on the schedule of the drug and the crime is charged as a misdemeanor.
- Jail time up to one year
- Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000
Anyone who possesses more than what is allowed from a prescription written to him or her will be punished as follows if he or she receives a conviction.
- 1,000 grams or more is a felony punishable by up to life imprisonment or a fine of up to $1,000,000 or both.
- 450 grams, but less than 1,000 grams is a felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison or a fine of up to $500,000 or both
- 50 grams, but less than 450 grams is also a felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison or a fine of up to $250,000 or both
- Less than 50 grams is a felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison or a fine of up to $25,000 or both
The penalties outlined above are for the possession of schedule 1 and schedule 2 substances.
Medical Marijuana Charges
Charges for the distribution of marijuana may even be brought against a medical marijuana patient. If an individual who is a patient shares medical marijuana with another person, who is not a patient, without following the guidelines of the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act (MMMA), he or she can be charged with a felony.
Once convicted, an individual could spend up to 2 years in prison and be forced to pay fines up to $2,000. In addition, the patient’s registry identification card for medical marijuana will be revoked. The charges are more severe when money exchanges hands for the distribution of marijuana. The penalties a person may face range from 4 to 15 years in jail.
Call (888) 211-5798 today if you are facing charges related to the distribution of marijuana.