The Right to Relocate

In the aftermath of a divorce, parents who have custody of a child from the marriage may face limitations if they want to move.

Michigan’s state policies aim to promote both parents’ involvement in a child’s life, which means there are certain restrictions on how far one parent may move with a child.

100 Miles Within the State

Michigan state law will allow a parent who shares joint custody with their ex-spouse to move up to 100 miles from the child’s legal residence (as long as the new location is still within the state of Michigan).

It’s important to keep in mind that this 100-mile limit is not a strict radius. The new location must be within 100 miles by road distance, not by a straight line on a map.

There are certain exceptions to this rule. If the other parent states that the distance makes transitions between the two homes too difficult for the child, then they may request a change in custody to make up for the extended distance.

Additionally, if each parent lived more than 100 miles apart when the custody proceedings began, then the court’s approval is not required to move a greater distance.

Need Help with Child Custody? Contact Us Today

If you need assistance revising your child custody arrangement, our Michigan family law attorneys at Grewal Law PLLC are here to help. We can help you face and overcome the potential obstacles in your case and navigate the legal system successfully.

Contact us today at (888) 211-5798 to schedule a free consultation.

Related Posts
  • Discovering Marital Assets, Debts & Money During Divorce Read More
  • How to Get Through a Gray Divorce and Its Financial Impacts Read More
  • How Long Can I Receive Alimony in Michigan? Read More