A common pastime for many during the warmer months is fishing in one of the many inland lakes in the great state of Michigan. It can be tempting for those who are unfamiliar with the sport and laws surrounding it to grab a fishing pole and cast a reel a few times, but it is important to note that anyone over the age of 17 must have a license to fish in Michigan.
What many don’t realize is that you could be charged with a misdemeanor if you get caught fishing without a license, pursuant to the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act. This is punishable by up to 90 days of imprisonment and a fine between $25 and $250.
Be proactive. Make sure you have a fishing license before you go fishing this summer. No one wants to end up with a misdemeanor on their record simply for failing to purchase a fishing license. Michigan’s Department of Natural Resources offers annual and 24-hour fishing licenses for residents and non-residents.
If you have found yourself charged with a misdemeanor for fishing without a license, it is important to remember that a charge is not the same as a conviction. There is still time to defend yourself and prevent a misdemeanor from tarnishing your record. Our attorneys at Grewal Law PLLC are skilled in fighting these charges and will work to defend you. Contact our Michigan criminal defense team online for a complimentary case evaluation.